Lower your standards or go insane…..

I’m not sure where I read this or if someone actually said it to me, but when I was pregnant with my first I was so full of how everything was or wasn’t going to be. How I would find it relatively easy to keep on top of all the usual stuff like, house work, personal maintenance, keeping baby/child amused.

How I laugh at these ridiculous notions now!!!

The best piece of advice I received was to lower my standards, I can be a bit over the top about liking everything ‘just so’.

I was told to pick 2 of the following options:

Clean House

Happy Children

Sanity

The ‘kick in the bum’ being if I managed to maintain 2 I would forfeit the third ha ha!

I have two boy’s now aged 3 and 1 and I have referred back to this analogy many times in my mind since embarking on the motherhood journey. I always find it to be true, I think it also helps to balance out your priorities in life.

Occasionally I change my priority’s and fairly quickly come to the realisation

‘what the hell was I thinking’ …………… fairly shortly after the switch.

Me persMinion hoardersonally, I chose the 2 options that keep me sane – Happy Kids and Sanity.

Now please don’t misunderstand me here, my home isn’t an environmental health risk or anything! It’s just not kept to the standard it was BC (before children).

So there are toy’s in the wrong rooms (aren’t there always) and the windows and mirrors are covered in tiny handprints, there may even be stuff under the sofa that is no longer recognisable …… it’s just one of those things.

I’d much rather be sane anyway…. Wouldn’t you????????

 

Leave a Reply

